HomeColumnsMCongrats Oct./Nov. 2023

MCongrats Oct./Nov. 2023

Lourdes University Welcomes New President

Bill Bisset
Photo provided via Lourdes.

Lourdes University named Dr. William Bisset, Ph.D. as the school’s 12th president, beginning his new role in June. Bisset has held senior-level positions at four nationally recognized colleges and universities, including Marymount University and Manhattan College, providing him with extensive experience in growing enrollment, working with community partnerships and a keen understanding of raising the university’s visibility. Bisset emphasizes his approachability, and with his experience and connection to Lourdes is working hard to grow the school. lourdes.edu.

Toledo Opera Appoints New Development Staff

Photo provided via Toledo Opera.
Leah Whitaker
Photo provided via Toledo Opera.

Toledo Opera welcomes a new development staff: Leah Whitaker, Development Officer and Ikpemesi Ogundare, Finance & Development Administrator. Executive Director, Suzanne Rorick explains, “The Toledo Opera staff and board have long prided themselves as being a ‘scrappy, little team.’ We have intentionally functioned with a reduced office staff during the pandemic and the ensuing economic uncertainty. But, we are now very cautiously increasing our bench strength and it is exciting to welcome both Leah and Ikpemesi.” toledoopera.org.

Dave Spiess Honored By Sylvania Schools Foundation

Dave Spiess
Dave Spiess

The Fifteenth Annual Sylvania Schools Athletic Hall of Fame Ceremony honored 11 people and two teams in the 2023 ceremony, one of whom being Dave Spiess, “The Health Insurance Guy.” For his many years of service to Sylvania Schools, Spiess received the Jim Glase Distinguished Service Award. sylvaniaschoolsfoundation.org.

Writers Win 2023 Ohioana Book Awards

Ohioana Book Awards
Photo provided via Ohioana Book Awards.

The Ohioana Library is pleased to announce the winners of the 2023 Ohioana Awards, including seven book awards and the Walter Rumsey Marvin Grant. First given in 1942, the Ohioana Book Awards are the second oldest, and among the most prestigious, state literary prizes in the nation. Six of the Ohioana Book Award winners were selected by juries, including these categories: nonfiction, fiction, poetry, about Ohio or an Ohioan, middle grade/young adult and juvenile. The Readers’ Choice Award was determined by voters in a public online poll. More than 2,000 votes were cast in this year’s Readers’ Choice Award poll. For the full list of winners, visit ohioana.org.

TARTA CEO Named Leadership Ohio Award Winner

Laura Koprowski
Photo provided via TARTA.

The Toledo Area Regional Transit Authority (TARTA) Chief Executive Officer Laura Koprowski has been named Leadership Ohio’s Visionary Leadership Award honoree for 2023. The award recognizes a Leadership Ohio graduate who has driven transformative change in their industry by demonstrating exceptional leadership. In less than 3-1/2 years with TARTA, and less than 2 years as CEO, Koprowski has spearheaded a wave of positive change at the organization, including the return of Sunday and holiday bus service, the introduction of a new on-demand microtransit service, TARTA Flex and more. tarta.com.

Recent Articles